The 7 Main Chakras and Your Body


There are 7 main Chakras, or energy centers, that are within your body. The chakras are the connections between your physical body and your soul. It is important to be aware of your energy centers, and how to work with them, so you can clear energy blocks. Blocks in your chakras can lead to physical, mental, and emotional issues if not addressed. The 7 chakras are part of the most commonly known chakra system made of seven energy centers located along the spine and ending in the brain, from the perineum area to the top of the head.

The mainstream chakra system is based on a Hindu chakra system that recognizes seven distinct “wheels” or “centers” of energy that are perpetually in motion along the human body’s spinal column. Each possessing its own color and vibrational frequency, these wheels are the catalysts of consciousness and human function. They govern various emotional issues, from our survival instincts and self-esteem to our ability to communicate and experience love.

A large part of getting to know how to work with your chakras involves chakra balancing. A chakra blockage and imbalance in one or several of 7 chakras can initiate mental, emotional, physical and/or spiritual ailments. Regardless of whether you use chakra stones, crystals, reiki, or another form of vibrational healing to restore chakra balance, being well-versed about chakra systems, their function, and the areas they govern can be invaluable.

So, let’s go over the 7 main Chakras, and how they relate to your body.


The root chakra is the first chakra. Its energy is based on the earth element. It’s associated with the feeling of safety and grounding. It’s at the base of the chakra system and lays the foundation for expansion in your life. The root chakra is where we ground ourselves into the earth and anchor our energy into the manifest world. A blocked root chakra may turn into behaviors ruled mainly by fear. On the same line, when the root chakra is overactive, fear might turn into greed and paranoia, which are extreme forms of manifestation of imbalance in the first chakra. Issues with control over food intake and diet are related to it.

The first chakra is associated with the following functions or behavioral characteristics:

Security, safety


Basic needs (food, sleep, shelter, self-preservation, etc.)

Physicality, physical identity, and aspects of self


Support and foundation for living our lives

Imbalance in the first chakra are related to:

Excessive negativity, cynicism

Eating disorders

Greed, avarice


Excessive feeling of insecurity, living on survival mode constantly



FOODS: Think foods that are ROOTED in the ground or have red skin. Examples are beets, carrots, garlic, ginger root, leek, onions, parsnips, potatoes, radish, turnip, yam

OILS: Frankincense, Myrrh, Vetiver, Black Pepper

CRYSTALS: ruby, garnet, black tourmaline, black obsidian, red onyx, other red stones

AFFIRMATIONS: I AM Grounded. I AM Connected to Earth. I AM Safe.


The sacral chakra is the second chakra. It is associated with the emotional body, sensuality, and creativity. Its element is water and as such, its energy is characterized by flow and flexibility. It is associated with the lymphatic system. The sacral chakra is associated with the realm of emotions. It’s the center of our feelings and sensations. It’s particularly active in our sexuality and the expression of our sensual and sexual desires. Opening your sacral chakra allows you to “feel” the world around and in us.

The sacral chakra is associated with the following psychological and behavioral functions:

Emotions, feelings

Relationships, relating